The System is Broken

30 May

CWA RallyIt’s time to face facts. Our political system is broken. We have weak leaders, a frightening lack of innovation in the halls of power, and many, many citizens are cynical and angry. And even greater number have simply given in to gross apathy in the face of politics as usual.

By God, not me. I’m fighting and I need your help. If you can walk with me, walk with me. If you can’t walk with me, donate to show the system that we aren’t dead yet. We must keep the fire burning.

On Wednesday, Jason Wong and I supported SEIU health workers in Sacramento at a late-night vigil. Devastating cuts to our most vulnerable must be stopped, and WE MUST NOT send more failed Sacramento leadership to Washington to represent our East Bay.

See vigil photos here.

On Thursday, I marched with the Communication Workers of America and other labor supporters in Oakland to demand that AT&T use its massive profits to ensure fair health benefits in the overdue CWA contract.

Read my open letter to AT&T CEO Randall Stephenson, here.

See more CWA rally photos, here.

Join me to crush the system, for our future.

Adriel Hampton is a journalist, Gov 2.0 and new media strategist, public servant, and licensed private investigator. He is running for U.S. Congress in the 2009 special election for California’s 10th District. He has pledged to vote against funding for expansion of the Iraq and Afghan wars.

Leave a Reply

